Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Top Nigerian Athletes For 2011Future Awards

Top Nigeria athletes who made their marks in 2010 have been nominated for this year’s edition of the Future Awards billed for Sunday December 19, 2010 in Lagos.
Leading the pack is new Africa queen of tracks, Blessing Okagbare 22, who is in contention with the likes of Don Jazzy (Entrepreneur) 29, Genevieve Nnaji (Actor) 31, Psquare (Artiste) 30 amongst others for the young person of the year award.
Also, 2010 Commonwealth Games triple jump gold medalist, Tosin Oke 30, will slug it out with other sports personalities in the sports person of the year category which have top stars like Peter Emelieze 22(Athletes) and Janet Dung 24 (Athlete) while others are Chinedu Obasi (Football) 24, Vincent Enyeama (Football) 28, Christiana Nwoye (Wrestling), Desire Oparanozie (Football) 19 and Mobolaji Akiode (Basketball) 28.
According to organizers, voting begins immediately with the voting numbers as 33120 for Nigeria, 99199 for Canada, 80079 for UK: and 97605 USA while adding that voting takes only 50% of the first stage of judging, so winners are not selected by voting popularity. There is a also a 4-stage judging process involving a Board of Judges and an Independent Audit Committee.

No comments: